The Washington PostThe Washington Post

Six countries to join BRICS group; China labels expansion 'historic'

By Christian Shepherd

24 Aug 2023 · 3 min read

informed Summary

  1. The BRICS group, consisting of Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa, will add six new members in January: Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. This is the first expansion since South Africa joined in 2010.

The BRICS grouping of Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa will add six nations to its ranks next year, as Beijing and Moscow push for the loose collection of emerging economies to evolve into a robust counterweight to Western global dominance.

Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates will join as members in January, the summit host, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa, said Thursday, the last day of the three-day meeting in Johannesburg. The announcement marked the first expansion since South Africa joined in 2010 at the invitation of China.

Sign in to informed

  • Curated articles from premium publishers, ad-free
  • Concise Daily Briefs with quick-read summaries
  • Read, listen, save for later, or enjoy offline
  • Enjoy personalized content